I Don’t Make Resolutions

IMG_1625

I know this post is quite late on the “new year’s resolutions bandwagon” but I’m still gonna do it just because. So here it goes, I’m gonna say it.

I don’t make resolutions.

I believe I tried a few times, but then, after seeing how a painful imbecile I can be when it comes to sticking to them, I gave up. I’ve had quite a few New Years in my life and every single year I would hear resolutions being made, promised, followed, compromised, and broken. Such a pitiful fate for those resolutions don’t you think? And since I am a very nice person, I spare them from pitiful fate from me. I know I tried to make them when I was younger, but I can’t remember when I stopped. Just like I could never figure out how I stopped believing in Santa (although between you and me, I still think he is somewhere out there *wink*).

If I am not imagining things, I believe those resolutions during earlier years consisted of me controlling my weight and eating better and healthier. And so now when I think about it, I understand why I stopped doing it. It just does’n’t work out. The struggle is real people. THE STRUGGLE IS REAL. Now don’t confuse it with me wanting to become stick thin, simply because I refuse to become stick thin, much more than I think I don’t have the capacity to become one. As I have said in my previous post, I am working towards self-acceptance and confidence and I intend to stand by it. But that does not me I can’t want to be healthy. I have had, and am still having, health issues arising from my weight. I intend to live a reasonable number of years. I am on the process of convincing myself it’s really, really worth it and that I should start NOW. It takes a lot of willpower and I you need to be absolutely committed if you want to see results and not fall disappointed for the nth time.

I see people make promises and bucket lists. Personally, I like bucket lists and I have one of those too! I recently went to Hong Kong for a whole week and got that crossed out. But promises? Hmmm, I dunno. Wouldn’t that be the same as resolutions? Now, I’m not throwing shade on those who make resolutions. I really think that it is a healthy practice for setting goals for the whole. It works wonderfully for others, but it hasn’t for me for years. Now, I am contemplating on making resolutions for myself. I know, I know it’s late, but you know me, I don’t mind the scrutiny. Let’s see. I would probably write my journey towards resolutions yeah? I am thinking of creating small resolutions every month. We’ll see how that goes.

Let’s spend the New Year making our dreams come true and making our lives how we want them to be!

Leave a Reply

