Why I Am Here

(c) Leonid Afremov

(c) Leonid Afremov

There are days, which in my case is most days, when I’d rather write than talk. I know it might be difficult for the people who know me to believe that I can write more adding to what I have to say. But, those that really matter to me, are written, not said. So, I guess that is the gist of this blog’s existence in the vast and anonymous world of the internet. A small dot, but still. It is an attempt for me to put these inner thoughts out there-an attempt to reach out of this tiny nutshell I live in. I have always regarded this as my secret garden. A place where I can be me, and say things I’d usually rather keep to myself and my ever loyal pen and paper. It’s that place where I can be free, and not be judged for it.It’s a place where I can express, and enjoy the things I love, and share it to the world, or to even a single person who might have made the silly decision to read my musings.

I was reading on something and it made me realize that yeah, I want people to read this too! To be honest, it’s almost surreal realizing that someone across the world, a kind-hearted, patient person is trying to understand whatever it is that my brain is trying to say. To be able to reach as far a another human being’s heart is priceless.

People may call it selfish but I started this to help myself. I have very few people I can call friends, and while I am completely happy with them in my life, there is just this voice telling me that I have people for me far away, and all I have to do is go out there. So I am! Maybe it’s futile, or it’s all worth it, but at least I took the jump. Wherever I land, I know I did something I will not regret. I gave one of my dreams a shot. Oh yeah, haven’t I told you? I want to be a writer. Not the novel kind of writer . I don’t think my imagination is even a quarter of those wonderful authors’. But I want to be someone who writes who is able to speak to a person through my work to their hearts.

I completely forgot that I am supposed to introduce myself first, so here it goes. I am Meyan Rose, 23 (as of this writing), a registered nurse, an aspiring writer, a voracious reader, a home baker and cook, and a dreamer. I love travelling and chilling in the comforts of heaven called home. I can be very picky when it comes to details and I am in a serious and loving relationship with coffee. I am here because I took a chance, and here I am, carrying on and trying to make this choice worth it. Maybe to some people this is such a shallow and stupid thing to do, but for me this is a big thing – letting people in to my thoughts. There still are things I’d prefer to keep, but the freedom that this platform provides one is liberating. And for a kind-of-introvert like me, it is huge.

So I call this blog a journey, and I hope people who decide to stop by pick up bits and pieces in this journey that are worth learning. Whether they are in my blunders of in my triumphs, or even in my simple, silly, and weird musings. I hope people who read or chance on my blog experience this journey with me. I am extremely grateful to anyone who lends me their precious time to read my rambles and sometimes incoherent thoughts. Honestly, I cannot think of one single theme that I wish to only write about. I like doing too many things. So I hope you enjoy and let’s experience this journey together!

14 thoughts on “Why I Am Here

  1. Brilliant!
    I like what you say about writers. Sometimes it’s very important to give thoughts an appropriate medium. Sometimes talking isn’t good enough. To be honest, it never is enough. In fact, that’s why I started blogging too! Although I’m too lousy. But I hope I get good enough someday to be able to explain that which I think.

    Like

  2. Aw, this is fabulous! First of all, I know exactly how you feel. I am far better at writing words than speaking them. And I also want to write, but I worry about my imagination. We have a lot in common! But, I think you have achieved one of your goals already- putting yourself out there, trusting us to read your words, well, you HAVE spoken to our hearts. It’s quite lovely when someone allows themselves to just BE themselves, without a filter.

    And it is not at all selfish to have created your blog for you- in fact, I think it is smart! You should really only be doing it because YOU love it, not because you feel like you have to. I had a “mom blog” a few years back, but it was really just keeping people updated on my kids, and ended up being not at ALL for me. Eventually, I just couldn’t do it anymore, and that is when book blogging took over. It’s a way for me to be social, to connect with so many amazing people that I wouldn’t have otherwise ever connected with (current company included!), and I hope I always love doing it.

    But I am VERY mad at coffee for cheating on me with you πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Coffee has always been like that don’t you agree? being with millions at one time? but then again, always manages to make everybody feel loved at the same time… thanks shannon! that was so sweet of you..

      Like

  3. A lovely introduction. There can be no better reason to write than to express your inner-most thoughts, because it gives your writing a special glow, which makes it stand out πŸ™‚

    Like

      • And you write so well πŸ™‚ We all are made of different types of clay…but in the end, we are all striving to achieve the same goal through our work – happiness πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Thanks so much, Meyan. A couple of recent comments have left me bruised and am really feeling grateful to everyone who thinks that artists too can work towards a better life.

        Like

      • oh they definitely do! I think people live better lives on their own contexts. Art is relative, and though we cannot blame people for not appreciating them as much as we do, I think it is just rude to judge the life others live by our own preferences.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag | Papers Pens and Peridot

Leave a Reply

