BOOK REVIEW: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

17199504

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

I planned on doing this last night but I got sucked in the magical world of book blogs I totally lost track of time and fell asleep. Also, I feel a bit chatty today, so excuse me if I tend to ramble on a bit in this review with completely unrelated stuff.

I posted on my Instagram account (hit that cute button on the right upper side of this wee little blog if you like to see and be friends with me *wink*) a picture of this book when I snagged it for a crazy good price from BookSale. I’ve heard good things, actually great things, about this book and its sequel The Mime Order so I was really excited going into it. It actually has quite a following and people I have asked for opinions on it said that they loved it. And I was not disappointed.

Honestly, the first time I heard about it I got intrigued because of its title. I thought it was some type of  fantasy/horror novel about witches and bones and dark creatures and human bones being used for some sick demented way to control dark powers and rule over the living by an evil woman with a tortured soul. Whew! That was a lot of speculating right there! While I was a bit close with the powers and creatures, I couldn’t have guessed that it was kind of a dystopian novel. Happily surprised though, it was well played.

I’ve mentioned in my last post that I have this thing for book covers, and so when I saw this book I immediately knew I had to get it. It wasn’t over the top, but it was intriguing, and the vivid colors were perfect in giving it that mysterious feel. I removed the dust jacket and what do I see? A book that looked like it can be borrowed from the library of Hogwarts. The book spine was really nice! Yep. Did I say this book had a beautiful cover? No? Well it had. Just something about it looks beautiful to me.

IMG_ysvhuf

One of the things I noticed while reading was the character development both the lead characters went through. Often, development focuses on only one, usually the main hero/heroine. However the characters were introduced and melded into the story seamlessly with their own stories woven-in to their situations and the perspective of the narrator.

Paige was a great heroine. She was strong-willed and bad-ass which I personally root for. Like I said, pathetic lead roles are not my thing. I found myself cheering on her to just make people bleed. Violent tendencies? Please excuse my need for bloody scenes. However, there were times I just wanted to sit down with her with some cake and tea and say how extremely stubborn almost to the point of stupidity she is. Like c’mon! This guy has treated you beyond graciously than the other masters! But then there was this side of me trying to understand her and actually relate to her with her trust issues. I feel you girl. Paige’s transformation was slow and gruesome, but incomplete, which is why I look forward to reading what’s next for her.

Now, let’s just take a while to appreciate this wonderful being called Arcturus of Mesarthim. I ABSOLUTELY REFUSE to call him Warden. Just no! I am inlove with his name, and his character, and him. Can I just swoon over him and let you figure out the rest of my thoughts? NO? His intensity is just EVERYTHING. Okay I’ll stop now.

I was a bit sold with the love story. I say a bit because I felt like it lacked intensity the whole time and there was only one actual intense scene which was interrupted (goodness gracious!) by that evil girl. BUT, that was what made me want to see what happens next. It was a good amount of suspense, but like I said, Paige could have easily been turned to stone by her stubborn and cold attitude.

The plot movement was good, and the timing was nicely executed for me. It wasn’t too slow or too fast. The world Shannon created was very interesting and edgy. When I saw clairvoyance I knew I wanted to give this book a go, and I was right to have done so!

The author writes simply and clearly. I like how she dealt with dreams, and being able to access it to see the real person. It’s kind of mystic but realistic at the same time. I think it’s what keeps it connected to the real world which makes it more reader friendly. It’s one of those books that you will enjoy reading because of it’s story and not because of its play with words.

Overall I really enjoyed the world of clairvoyants. The Mime Order received a slightly higher Goodreads rating so I’m expecting more from it. Although I’m not sure when I’ll get my hands on it, it is sure to be on my TBR list. The third book A Song Rising is to be released so be on the lookout if you are a fan!

I give this book 4/5 stars! (or cherry blossoms if you may)

flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1

See you in the next review!

Leave a Reply

