BOOK REVIEW: Minutes Before Sunset by Shannon Thompson

25170253

Two destinies. One death.

“Her kiss could kill us, and my consent signed our death certificates.”

Eric Welborn isn’t completely human, but he isn’t the only shade in the small Midwest town of Hayworth. With one year left before his eighteenth birthday, Eric is destined to win a long-raging war for his kind. But then she happens. In the middle of the night, Eric meets a nameless shade, and she’s powerful—too powerful—and his beliefs are altered. The Dark has lied to him, and he’s determined to figure out exactly what lies were told, even if the secrets protect his survival.

Jessica Taylor moves to Hayworth, and her only goal is to find more information on her deceased biological family. Her adoptive parents agree to help on one condition: perfect grades. And Jessica is distraught when she’s assigned as Eric’s class partner. He won’t help, let alone talk to her, but she’s determined to change him—even if it means revealing everything he’s strived to hide.

Minutes Before Sunset is the first book in The Timely Death Trilogy.

This was a book was something that I have absolutely no idea what is was about going into. Did not read blurbs, or reviews.. didn’t even visit good ‘ol Goodreads to get an idea. I was nevertheless excited because come on, the cover looks promising really. I judge books by their covers. Yes. Moving on. I must say I have one suggestion though, I would have much preferred the girl on the cover to have been drawn by an artist. Just my opinion which probably does not really matter. The title intrigued me quite honestly, maybe because it had the ‘Twilight-ish’ feel to it.

So yeah, I was kind of looking forward to know what this book was about and while I think the story has promise, it just didn’t do it for me. I was, unfortunately, underwhelmed. Looking at the Goodreads and Amazon reviews, it seems that I am in the minority in this, but that’s okay, dissenting opinions right?

I didn’t completely dislike it though, it had some good points too.

Untitled

I liked Eric

Listen, when a guy just slowly turns to a rustling breeze of black smoke blending into the darkness of the night, you gotta love him. You just do. I do. There was good character development for him. You get a glimpse of who he is as a son and a friend (and a former friend) and a member of the awkward student body. The conflict and internal struggle Eric goes through during the book was described pretty well and he handles it like a boss too. How he had to shuffle responsibilities and being a teenager and a student and a friend and apparently an heir being trained to murder a kid like himself. I honestly liked reading his parts of the book (as it was told on both his and Jessica’s voice). I was looking forward to his side throughout the whole book.

Light = dark, Dark = light

Strange, I know. But this was how I understood the whole story. I might be wrong so please don’t murder me. Anyway, this was a really, really interesting take on things and how readers perceive the darkness and light. Of course in common context light or the color white represents the good or the pure or angels, etc and the dark or black represents evil or death or bad omens. This was the rebellion to that and I thought it was a marvelous idea in how the author both played with it literally and figuratively in the book. She used the mystery that the darkness carries to mean that it is unsure, but not necessarily evil. I mean, they still kill other creatures so..

Underground fortress, turning to smoke, Shade names, etc.

The world created was unique and wasn’t something I have read before. It was kind of like angels and demons fighting but not exactly like that. Like a toned-down version, minus the intense and gory fight scenes.

Untitled

A lot.

It lacked the ‘umph’

What is the ‘umph’? Trust me you don’t want me explaining it because you might stay for a very long time reading this, but I know you wonderful book people get it. Two pages in and I just felt it lacked luster. For some reason I was yearning for richer language, and more vivid descriptions which would have been a huge help to build the reality of the fictional world and situations being described. I think it lacked playfulness it terms of using words and it felt like I was pulling to get more intense emotions out of it. It just didn’t get a good grip on me. There were parts that just felt like I had to drag myself to read them over.

I didn’t care about Jessica, AT ALL.

I almost got through the book not reading any of her parts. Personally, I think the book could have been told solely on Eric’s perspective and it would have been fine. She bored me. And I almost instantly knew that she was the girl on the lake (spoiler). I just did. She did not have one striking attribute to her, besides the fact that she is a Shade and is the 3rd descendant which was assigned to her by the author essentially.

That prophecy though *slaps forehead*

Forgive me, but what in the world? Did that just? Really? No. Noooo. Why? WHY? When I saw what the “real” prophecy was, I just had to chuckle. IT was just so unexpected for me. A hero’s ladylove is his weakness, yeah sure, but how? Nothing actually weakens within him, nothing happens? No explanation on how it happens. Getting traced because of her? Her being used against you? That’s not weakness, that’s DANGER. I get the whole love thing, I just thought it could have been played out much better, way better than how it was done. To be quite fair I think Shoman (or Eric, I like his Shade name better) and Jessica are a perfect fit and I would root for them if I would read the next books (which probably wouldn’t happen).

I finished reading it because I just wanted to give it a fair share to be honest but not because it was a page turner for me. It just was not for me.

flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1  flower_sakura_gradation2

 

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts on it? Are you attracted to guys who have a dark side?

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Minutes Before Sunset by Shannon Thompson

  1. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Relentless by Karen Lynch | Papers Pens and Peridot

Leave a Reply

