BOOK REVIEW: Relentless by Karen Lynch

20427449

Sara Grey’s world shattered ten years ago when her father was brutally murdered. Now at seventeen, she is still haunted by memories of that day and driven by the need to understand why it happened. She lives a life full of secrets and her family and friends have no idea of the supernatural world she is immersed in or of Sara’s own very powerful gift.

In her quest for answers about her father’s death, Sara takes risks that expose her and her friends to danger and puts herself into the sights of a sadistic vampire. On the same fateful night she meets Nikolas, a warrior who turns Sara’s world upside down and is determined to protect her even if it’s the last thing she wants.

Sara’s life starts to spin out of control as she is hunted by an obsessed vampire, learns that her friends have secrets of their own and reels from the truth about her own ancestry. Sara has always been fiercely independent but in order to survive now she must open herself to others, to reveal her deepest secrets. And she must learn to trust the one person capable of breaking down the walls around her.

Oh gosh where do I start with this. Okay, so this book landed onto my Kindle app because Benjaminoftomes from YouTube and Instagram recommended it on one of his videos (watch it here) and I was so intrigued by it so I went to Amazon and downloaded it (the kindle version was free at that time and I think it still is). So, I read it right after I finished reading Minutes Before Sunset (read my review here) and to be honest I did not have really high hopes for this one. But I was so wrong…

This book you guys, is just AMAZING! I must say I was happily surprised. One page in and I. WAS. HOOKED. Excuse my ‘mild’ flailing and shrieking for the most part of this review and I will probably just make up for that with GIFs. I only have one complaint about this book, and it may sound really stupid but as some of you might know by now, I am a sucker for beautiful book covers but damn, look at this one!

Jenna_damn_girl

Honestly, the cover does not do it justice at all. I mean aside from the fact that the people on the cover are obviously gorgeous people. But let’s just go past that and marvel over this book shall we?

So I dived into the book thinking it might just be another promotional thing you know (because it was free) and then I read the first few pages and I thought this was what I was looking for! It made me smile thinking about it now, how surprised and happy I was that it delivered so well. You read it and you get this vivid picture on your head about the neighborhood, the situation, the context, the expressions, the creatures for crying out loud! Lynch writes in a way that will make you almost smell the molds in the house where Remy (the troll) helped a creature give birth. I know, TROLL! Remember the Harry Potter scene?

giphy.gif

Nope. It’s not like that. Remy (the troll) is ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE if you can believe that.

The story follow Sara who lives with her uncle since her mom left and her dad passed away. Sara knows she is different in that she can heal things, and she is aware that there are other creatures that exist alongside humans in this world. She loves animals, and though reserved and keeps to herself, has an upright character and doesn’t tolerate injustice. Basically she is bad ass. So you know I love her. But, being the good blogger *snort* I shall list the reasons why I love it for yah!

lik

Oh Nikolas…

Nicolas is just as bad ass as he is kind. He has a good heart inside nerves of steel and beautiful eyes. There is this charm to him, not the kind that most would swoon over. Maybe it is his protective instincts which is more because of Sara and not because she is an orphan Mohiri. Maybe it is that she is Mohiri but not entirely? I just think how the hero in this story is perfectly created, to stand out and to complement the heroine. I love his character, his amazing sword skills, and his relentless character. I’m not even gonna apologize for that pun.

TROLLS!!!

Let’s look past her last name people. Sara has a troll for a friend, trades troll bile, has imps for pets in her house, takes home abandoned animals, and talks to elementals. If that doesn’t make you like her then I don’t know what will. I mean just the troll would do it for me. She had this sense of justice which is kind of stubborn but not misplaced. She can hold up her own. She was awkward but equally loved by her friends.

Christian my love…

Now I know he isn’t the main hero and I have no idea if he will still be in the next book but girl… that man is goals. I would marry him of I could. Just oh!

giphy (1)

*deep breaths*

srPhJsJ

*clears throat*

Moving on, admittedly, there is just a sh*t load of information about lots of different creatures in this book, but I DON’T MIND. It was just written beautifully that you wouldn’t get lost in the way. The pacing was just right and all the hints to the succeeding events were really cleverly done. Like, you wouldn’t have guessed it! There was good character development for both Nikolas and Sara, although of course Sara is the focus of this book for now. You could see how she grew as a school girl, as a friend, as a daughter, as a niece, and someone who isn’t human.

And the vampires…

Were not treated as sparkly creatures who would go to earths ends to save humanity. Although being good (even for vampires) is admirable, except the sparkly parts of course. They were portrayed as VAMPIRES. You know the blood sucking, feral, primal creatures, ruled by instinct to feed?  Yes, that.You don’t see that around too often. It’s actually refreshing if you can imagine that.

Anyway, I just can’t wait to read the next two books in the trilogy. I hope I can find it here. If not you know I will find ways to get my chubby hands on those books!

You knew this was coming:

flower_sakura_gradation1     flower_sakura_gradation1     flower_sakura_gradation1     flower_sakura_gradation1     flower_sakura_gradation2

Have you read this book? Do you like urban fantasy book? Let me know what you think and let’s chat!

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Relentless by Karen Lynch

  1. OMG this book sounds so good! I actually normally stay away from free books because I automatically judge them, by thinking they will be rubbish, however not in this case! This book looks so epic, so thank you so so much for bringing it to my attention! I am going to add it to my goodreads now. Speaking of goodreads, do you have an account? Because I need to be your friend on there lol. You wrote another great post by the way (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

