BOOK REVIEW: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

23127048

WARNING: This post may (most probably) just contain flailing and over-the-top emotions regarding an amazing, AMAZING book I love and will shove to anyone’s book cart. You have been warned.

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

I have been seeing this book circulating around blogs for sometime and I was really curious to see what all the fuss was about. So I was on Twitter one day and was chatting with a few fellow book bloggers when suddenly it was announced that I won a giveaway and that I get to choose which e-book I get to keep. So when I saw this book on the choices I knew it was what I wanted. I had books to read prior to this so I probably started it, I’d say 3 days after I got it. Now that I think about it, it was such a stupid idea not diving into this this book immediately because when I did, I devoured it it one sitting (or lying down, whichever you prefer)!

lik

This book just gripped me and did not let go even after I finished reading it! Yes, that hardcore! I think I had reading hangover from it if that was even possible. And the cover just puts the cherry on top. I mean just look at that stunning work of art right there! I could not think of a better cover! Just wow.

Vhalla was such a great character. She was so relatable and believable. Her vulnerabilities as a girl of her age, and status, and her upbringing just melded perfectly with her personality and her strengths. And this girl has natural sass. She was not my usual bad ass heroine, but she has this strength and resolve that is so palpable you do not have to read it in words to feel. She dreams big, and wants to be really good at what she does. Her character’s development was gradual and not forced. You just see her slowly realize how she fits into the world she is in and accept that the world she has lived in all those years was totally different from what she was meant to be in. You see how she is a normal young lady in how she is caring, and protective, and determined. You see her infatuated and really fall in love.

And I mean let’s be honest, the girl works in a library, is a bit of a rebel, takes care of books, and loves reading. What more can a girl like me ask for right? I see you Elise.

giphy

And ALDRIK…

Oh you weird, bad boy with a good heart. You know what they say, the good girl always falls for the bad guy. Well, pushing aside the fact that he seems okay with pushing a girl from the top of a tower which I kind of dig. Don’t ask, at the time I just thought, wow this guy has some balls and possibly strangely violent sorcerer. Then his character just unfold into this man who has inner conflicts of being a sorcerer, being shunned, being misunderstood, being a friend, being the crown prince. He suddenly becomes bare with his vulnerabilities in an almost natural manner not like the broken, bad ass, strong as a rock male protagonists on most books. It was as if their attraction just flowed naturally. It was beautiful to be honest. He almost made me tear up when he said ” I am not a good man.” From their context, it meant a lot. Tugging at the heartstrings eh?

Coming into this, I will say I may have a little bit of bias because I just absolutely love anything that has stuff to do with the elements. I just love them. I don’t know what it is, but they just fascinate me. Maybe it  is because I live so near them? In the mountainous regions you know, we cook with firewood, go to springs, climb to the mountain tops and feel the wind, work with dirt. You see? The world was created beautifully but is not too far from the society we know. Elise (first name basis, yup, that is how I roll) played with politics and war and territorial disputes. Much of which we see nowadays too. However, you see some mythology mixed in with court politics and intrigue in people worshiping the sun-goddess and justifying the war with spreading that belief.

There is the sibling love and sibling rivalry complex which I think was a clever touch to the story. People might think differently, but I believe the other prince plays an important role. Oh, and can we just talk about refusing to give in to the love triangle trap very early on? Clap clap!

I was so engrossed in reading that time just flew by, and when I reached the end I could not believe it. It is safe to say it broke my heart seeing the last page. WHY? WHY?

noooo-gif

I could not say enough good things about this book! That and the fact that Elise Kova is such a sweetheart! Follow her on Twitter and find out for yourself. Go and tell her I sent you there okay?

                        flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1flower_sakura_gradation1

READ. IT. NOW.

It is a wonderful series starter and I cannot wait to read the next ones! Fire falling is out now, and Earth’s End I believe is soon to be released. I don’t usually include shop links but since I just loooved this book, here they are:

                         Amazon_logo-8                   logo_shape1

Fire Falling:

                         Amazon_logo-8                 logo_shape1

*** Thanks to @thebooktraveler for the giveaway! You might have just changed my life! Check out her blog here.

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

  1. Pingback: Proud Member of the Tower Guard | Papers Pens and Peridot

  2. Pingback: Lousiest Street Team Member EVER | Papers Pens and Peridot

Leave a Reply

