BOOK REVIEW: Mystical by Michael Weekly

27787105

When Eliza Rose found out she was a witch, she thought she’d be casting spells…

However, it turns out Eliza is on her way to becoming a mystical assassin. But first she has to start college with her best friend Dawn Roberts and her feline familiar Jared. If you think college is stressful, try finding your best friend being seduced—nearly to death—by a venomous fairy. Something is horribly wrong, and Eliza must find out what it is.

Knowing who’s who in the Mystical world can be a burden—or save her life…

Murderous mermaids, seductive fairies, and manipulative elves are terrifying enough, but pure witches can become corrupt…and they’re the most dangerous creatures of all. Eliza struggles to discover the source of this chaos, but is repeatedly attacked—and saved by a shadowy figure. On a very personal note, Eliza must learn whether corruption is beginning to claim her mother.

Her strongest ally might be handsome, enigmatic Donovan—but he is hiding a shocking secret…

Donovan wants nothing to do with his old gang—not after the things they’d made him do. But when he meets Eliza, he’s both frustrated by her amateur skills and impressed by her emerging strength, and he feels compelled to help her grow into the assassin she’s meant to be.

Every answer has a price, and there are beings born to corrupt the pure.

Eliza fights to master her skills before it’s too late, while Donovan must determine whether Eliza can be saved…or if she must die to keep her out of the hands of those who would use her powers to reign over all of Mystical.

As some of you might know, I am slowly making my way through the amazing book community of the internet. And lately, I have been talking to other wonderful readers and bloggers and authors as well! All this is new and exciting for me so when an author contacts you to review a book, how can you say no?

Mystical is book #1 in the Mystical Series (I am not sure how many books there will be) and it follows our heroine Eliza (E-lee-zuh as she likes it pronounced) as she makes her way through an awkward phase of her life and school and friendship and boys, all of these besides the fact that she learns she is a witch.

Okay. Admittedly, this is not my favorite of books but I will tell you this early that it is not a bad book at all. Although, I must say it has a Mortal Instruments vibe to it. Shadowhunters anyone? For what its worth, I honestly believe that I personally would have enjoyed it better had I read it when I was younger. Disclaimer: I am not THAT old. But you get what I mean. Of course, I have those things that I really like about this book.

lik

Witches…

Need I say more? BUT, what actually made me really like it was how witches were so much different from the ugly hags or the wand waving, spell casting humans you normally see in books. They actually are bad-ass people who save people from dying in the hands (or claws, or flippers of whatever) of evil creatures roaming around. And the BROOMSTICK! I would want that broomstick for myself girl! If you want to know what I mean go and get this book! The difference and the general idea of what a witch is was perfectly played out. Honestly it suit the name witch pretty well.

The premise was good

The general premise of this book was great. I mean basically everybody knows about the stories about fairies and mermaids and elves. Weekly gives his own take on these stories we hear over and over again. If any, it is a refreshing, a bit dark yes, re-telling of what these creatures really are.

Fairies, mermaids, elves, and rave parties

The creatures (why does that word sound weird suddenly, anyway) were re-created in such a way that they aren’t too far off from what they are originally known for. You can still see hints of the common urban legends. and I think that’s what makes them more terrifying. Also, they are set to the mix with the modern day which I really like. No one will look at a beautiful girl the same way when they read this book. The book just captures what the life of a college freshman is.

Eliza

was a really nice girl. She wasn’t spiteful or depressed. Basically she wasn’t the pathetic damsel so we can become friends. Honestly in the end I don’t think she gave a damn about other people. She accepted that her mother was weird and that was it. She loved her just the same. And she could fight like a boss. I think Weekly was able to capture what the life of a normal teenager transitioning into young adulthood was like. College, independence, taking chances, boys, heartbreak, friendships. Even with all the crazy stuff, her life was described like any other. Her character was realistic in a way and I loved that.

unlike

Are we ready? Here we go.

I didn’t think the flow of words and the richness of the story telling was very consistent. As I was reading there were moments when oh! that was really good and rich and magical and then the next few lines were just womp womp… They weren’t bad, I mean they did the job of saying what was needed, it just wasn’t enough to give the needed punch. You get me?

This is probably one of the most frustrating plots I have read. Just the suspense of what was really happening and why things were happening was just dragged on too long it was unnecessary in my opinion. Basically at the end of the book I didn’t understand half of what or why things were happening. But, it may just be me. Everyone around her just made Liza look stupid and vulnerable all the while claiming they want to protect her. Well tell the girl the damn thing and let her defend herself! Do girls not have any say to things anymore?

One thing that kind of ticked me off a teeny tiny bit was that she needed to look gorgeous to be a hero. I mean come on. Really?  And anyone should know better than to let your best friend tag along your adventures with vicious creatures when you very well know she is absolutely in danger and might just hold you up. Hello!?!?!?! She accepts you, I get it so save her the agony and leave her at home!

There wasn’t much character development for any of the characters. I was looking for a little more conflict internally and externally for Liza. But there were great, GREAT moments for her (and her mum *wink*). And those were real gems.

Again, this is a good book, really. So many good elements and a colorful plot. It may just be me. I think it really is just me. It just didn’t grip me real tight. Preference thing. Thinking about it, I believe the next books may be a lot better and I may like them more than this book since I assume things will unfold more clearly as the series goes on. That is IF I will pick them up. If you ask me now, uhmm, I may pass. BUT, if you are a fan of books like Mortal Instruments series then you might enjoy this as well.

                              flower_sakura_gradation1         flower_sakura_gradation1       flower_sakura_gradation1

***This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Michael Weekly for sending me this ARC. This book releases on December 8, 2015 if it is not yet the 8th where you live, but otherwise it is up now! If you want to check it out here is the Goodreads and Amazon pages.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Mystical by Michael Weekly

  1. I think this young Aurther really has captured the new generation genre. It’s amazing how one can capture another’s attention through words, every step of the way it made you feel like you were a part of each seen that happen throughout this book. I think it’s amazing that the author also put a twist on the characters of this book some would say that which is our gloomy and ugly but he captured them to be very creative stylish a little airheaded but I like the fact that the main character was fine and this is why I would give this book for stores because of how it kept me going and I want to finish it all the way to the end. I would most definitely Recommend this to any young age school range from about fifth grade and up and I think it would really be neat if they came out what a video game for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh absolutely… Thanks for the chance to review it as well. I wish you the best in your books! You have real talent in writing, I mean it. I wouldn’t have the slightest idea of how to do what you did with your characters. Your imagination must be wild!

      Like

  2. This book sounds so amazing Meyan! Thank you so much for writing another amazing review. As soon as I saw the word witches I was sold (I love Occult and anything to do with witches!) but then I saw that it includes murderous mermaids and I was double sold. I know you only gave this book 3 stars but would you recommend it? (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

