BOOK REVIEW: Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic by Meghan Ciana Doidge

22059095

If you’d asked me a week ago, I would have told you that the best cupcakes were dark chocolate with chocolate cream cheese icing, that dancing in a crowd of magic wielders — the Adept — was better than sex, and that my life was peaceful and uneventful. Just the way I liked it.

That’s what twenty-three years in the magical backwater of Vancouver will get you — a completely skewed sense of reality. Because when the dead werewolves started showing up, it all unraveled … except for the cupcake part. That’s a universal truth.

Alright, before anything else I just have to say that my DIY planner is so far working for me really, really well. I might just make a post about it when I am done. Now on to the review…

Listen, I am all about baking and baked stuff and baking supplies and cream cheese frosting. I bake a lot, and it has become one of those things I do to calm me down. Obviously, I love books (can’t you tell?). So when I find out that a book mixes chocolate cupcakes and witches, you know I am definitely up for that!

like

The cover… ah… was fine. I mean, it has a chocolate cupcake and an almost macerated borderline bleeding cherry on it. Go figure.

Contrary to some of the reviews I saw prior to reading this book, I thought Jade wasn’t the all-too-perfect little-miss-sunshine kind of heroine which was amazing. If any, I think throughout the story you see how sheltered she is. You see her insecure and afraid and act impulsively. There is this warm charm to her, or maybe it is just because of the cupcakes she oh so lovingly describes. My mouth watered just reading what cupcakes she sold in that trinket-strewn-witch-protected bakeshop. Who wouldn’t want to go inside one?

Sienna just had that evil vibe to her.. I could just tell.

The vampire… stayed true to what a vampire is… not sparkly, just the way I like it. You know? Vampires have fangs and drink blood,supposedly irresistible, and can crush you at will. He was, say, cold? No pun intended. But him being so cold just worked perfectly. The other characters just mixed in really well. I thought there wasn’t one out of place.

But Hudson, that poor shapeshifter… I seriously felt sad.

tumblr_inline_n6x52i7I4D1qa43er.gif

I wanted to grab Sienna’s hair when I knew.

The Magic/Witch/Creature system wasn’t original obviously, but it was different. There was bureaucracy which I found funny but witty at the same time. There was order, which was something new given that most books would feature blood thirsty vampires wreaking havoc, over-sized mutts constantly trying to rip their heads off, and witches cursing a beautiful girl to damnation. I think the way the author has created a different world on a rather boring and usual suburb was great. How it has existed alongside the ‘normal’ was played out pretty well.

The pacing was okay. It wasn’t to fast paced, but it didn’t drag on too long. The mystery slowly unfolded, but it wasn’t the frustrating kind (which you know I TOTALLY hate).

dislike

The plot twist was kind of obvious a little less than halfway in. So when I got to that part, I was like “I knew it was you and I wish I could have grabbed your hair earlier!” BUT, surprisingly, it didn’t bug me that much. Somehow, it was the kind where, the mystery was not who, but how you would find out. Am I making sense to you right now?

Unfortunately, there was very minimal, if not no character development at all. For any of the characters. Now I would say that the whole storyline and premise kind of made up for it but still, I need that development. Although, I would say that Jade and her mom’s relationship really piqued my interest. I am guessing more of the conflicts I am looking for will be in the next books?

Although I must say the only character I truly loved in this book died probably a fourth in with the book, oh my poor self, over all I really enjoyed this book! I mean how can you not? Cupcakes and Witches?

I was really debating on what rating I should give this book, but honestly, I enjoyed it and well…

4star

So! Let’s chat….

What baked goods do you love? Are you more of a cake or a cupcake person? Do you like Banana bread?

 

Leave a Reply

