Top Ten Tuesdays: Contemporary/ Adult Fiction Books I Want to Read This Year

TTT1

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the BookishGo and check them out because they have some amazing reviews for you!

This week’s theme is a freebie. Basically, we get to choose whichever theme we felt like doing. So for this week, I decided to post my top ten (as of now) contemporary/ adult fiction books that I want to make sure to read this year, like I promised in my last TTT post. Now, my lovely booknerdy friends, I would like to declare that this is not an absolute, stone-engraved, blood-sworn promise. So… what I am saying is that the books in here may change as I go about this year, but I will try really hard.

Random: I am actually listening to In The End by Linkin Park while typing this. Weird, I know. Interestingly enough, Lose Yourself by Eminem played after it. Yeah people, I have that gal inside me too…Anyway, let us move on to the list shall we?

24817626

Go Set A Watchman By Harper Lee

If I would have to choose what is my favorite book of all time, I would say it would be To Kill A Mockingbird. I cannot count how many times I have re-read that book. I just LOVE that book and will continue to for the rest of my life, so when I found out about this book I flipped out. It remains a mystery to me why I haven’t picked this up yet, but, I shall correct that blunder very soon.

1217100

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Ever since I saw a review of this book on YouTube, I became very interested in reading it. I could not, for the life of me, remember who the booktuber was so I guess I am not really helping you out eh? haha! I just heard that this book was really great and heart-wrenching. Sounds good to me.

26025580

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

There has been a lot, A LOT, of buzz around Gone Girl by the same author but, I got intimated by the hype and the size of that book so I wasn’t interested in checking that out despite hearing about how brilliant it was. Aimee of Redheaded Book Lover reviewed The Grown Up by the same author, and said that it was great so I thought this was a good way to read something from Flynn that is a bit shorter than the massive Gone Girl. Who knows, maybe after I read The Grownup I might have the resolve to pick it up as well!

18460392

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Everybody seems to be recommending this to me. My sister, friends, fellow booknerds, blogging friends, twitter friends, blogs, nymphs, fallen angels… everyone. So I figured it probably got something right to deserve such regard.

7664334

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Now this book I have heard for a long time now but I could not seem to find it ANYWHERE. I will try to look harder this year though. I am dying to see what all the great reviews are all about.

20820994.jpg

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Honestly, the only thing I know about this book is that it revolves around siblings and I am up for it immediately. I am really curious about sibling relationships in books and how they are going to be executed. I am looking forward to picking this up.

21945590

Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

I have always been interested in reading novels that deal with altered mental states, illnesses, and disorders. I have read several blogs reviewing ARCs of this book and almost all have said good things about it. I do think it will be a great read.

18143905

 The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

I have known about this book for quite a while now but I have not been able to find it here in my place. I am REALLY interested in reading this because of the story behind it. Reading how a brilliant young lady sees the things around her will definitely be inspiring, heartbreaking maybe because we all know that she has passed, but still inspiring.

18336965

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

Unlike the other books, I haven’t seen this one a lot in blogs and in YouTube as well. However, I remember reading about it in a list somewhere and I became intrigued. The premise of this book is not very far off from what happens in real life to some people. It will be interesting to see a different perspective from my own.

23454468

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Listen, when someone is killed and a family member and stranger is involved, I’m all up for it. I have read good reviews about this book and I want to see what I think about it as well.

So that’s it! Those are my top ten contemporary/ adult fiction books I want to make sure to read this year!

Which contemporary books can you recommend? Have you read any of the books in my list? What did you think of them?

-Meyan Rose-

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Contemporary/ Adult Fiction Books I Want to Read This Year

    • thank you! i have heard great things about these books as well! I have been on a huge fantasy kick these past few months and I think I am ready for more contemporary which was where I really started as a reader 🙂

      Like

  1. My Heart and Other Black Holes was such a wonderful books – sure, I had some problems with it, but the emotional struggles of the characters were portrayed in a very beautiful and realistic way, IMO. I read Thirteen Reasons Why years ago, but I remember how much I loved it, and I do think I’d enjoy it even if I picked it up today. It is written in a very unique way, and it’s SO unputdownable! I haven’t actually read any of the others but The Grownup, Thicker Than Water, Underwater and Amy and Roger are on my TBR + I started All the Bright Places but it really wasn’t for me. Anyhow, hope you’ll love all these! 🙂
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, the cover for Thicker than Water is really interesting!

    The only books I’ve read on here are All the Bright Places (loved) and 13 Reasons Why, which I didn’t like, but more because of my issues with portraying suicide as being caused by outside forces rather than as a result of untreated or untreatable depression. The book was fine in and of itself; I just object to the entire premise, if that makes sense.

    The Opposite of Loneliness and I’ll Give You the Sun are two I really hope to get to soon also!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

