BOOK REVIEW: Double Life (Razia Series Book 1) by S. Usher Evans

28096258.jpg

So, listen… This book has thrown all my prejudices about dystopian(ish) books out the window, into the deepest part of the oceans, never to be found again. Just saying.

As some of you might know, I am a part of S. Usher Evans’ Street Team which means that I help her promote and spread word out about her books. That being said, I felt like a complete loser not having a review of one of her books. Like what? Why? WHY??? So, let us correct that mistake and make one alright?

The cover was okay for me. Not that I have anything in mind to make it a better one as I am not a very artsy person, but, it wasn’t mind blowing to me personally. Although, I would say it does the story service. 

like

Uhmm, pretty much everything? Well okay, okay.. let’s list them out..

The pacing of the story was perfect. Honestly, there was no dull moment. Now I am not saying that every single page is explosive, no. BUT, every single page leads you on to the next. You get what I’m saying? There was not one page you could getaway with not reading. Because I know (and you know) there are books I could skip a whole chapter of boring stuff and I would not miss a thing about the story at all.

Also, the character development which what I am ALWAYS looking for, was amazing. Obviously, most of it would fall on Lyssa/ Razia being that she is the lead character. What I loved about it was that the external and internal conflicts that she experienced just felt real and genuine. Father issues, crazy mother and family issues, identity issues, finding your own niche in the world, work… Everything. Once again, a kick-ass heroine who has her head perfectly placed on top of her neck. Seriously, she has her PhD (while this could be a total personal bias because I am working towards mine). She is brilliant AND stubborn at the same time. She pilots her own ship, excavates freaking PLANETS and catches pirates for a living. Amidst all the stuff that she is, you could just relate to her. Or maybe that is just me. Yup, spirit animal status

There were really great mysteries surrounding other characters as well. Like the kinds you want to know more about because you feel like there is something deep and dark but incredibly touching side to them. Enter Sage Teon and Harms. I seriously think Harms is protective of Razia, like a bad ass father-figure of some sorts.

BUT, I just want to take a moment, and explain through a GIF, about Vel. Ready?

4a0872b0-c824-0131-09d5-221cd24522bf.gif

The feels from that boy…. Insert heart-eyed emoji… Damn you Whitney…

The world that she created is just amazing. Just the combination of faith, and science, and heaven, and hell, and just the clear yet vague representation of the difference in them is great. I mean, it poses a question of what would you do if you could go to that place inches away from Heaven? What would it look like? What would you do? Would you want to know how your soul weighs in on judgement? What could jealousy and the unknown really do to a family? Just these questions perfectly melded into a dystopian, sci-fi novel is unbelievable. All this and the completely different other side of the spectrum where there are pirates, and bounty hunters which are pirates as well, and bank accounts, and secrets, and mafias, and selling planets, and I know it sounds dizzying but I promise you it’s not.

Somehow, she is able to narrate all this clearly and in a way that you can follow through fluidly. You just end up flipping through the pages knowing exactly what is going on.

dislike

Just the itty bitty fact that I was lost in the beginning because I am a poor technology user and sciences other than the ones that have to do with the human body are alien to me. So yeah, it took not a very long time but quite a few pages for me to ease in and get comfortable with the terms and the entire vibe of the story. But like I said, once I was in, I. WAS. IN.

When it ended I was actually surprised. I felt cheated, honestly. Like why would you do that? Why end it now? Anyway, I really, really like this book and for my first time plunging into this genre, it did a REALLY GREAT JOB. I recommend it to those of you who are trying out this genre or even to a well rounded reader as well. I don’t know if my words conveyed how much I loved this book, but here yah go!

4.5star

Let’s chat…

images

Have you read this book? Can you recommend books of the same genre? Do you like owls? Do you? Do you?!

 

-Meyan Rose-

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Double Life (Razia Series Book 1) by S. Usher Evans

  1. I have read this book and I loved it! I agree with all you said! (Other than I’m not working towards my PhD lol)
    I could relate to Razia so much (all her insecurities!)
    The rest of the books in the series are fantastic too! I stayed up too late a couple nights reading them!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Lousiest Street Team Member EVER | Papers Pens and Peridot

  3. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: The Island by S. Usher Evans + Giveaway! | Papers Pens and Peridot

Leave a Reply

