BOOK REVIEW: The Island by S. Usher Evans + Giveaway!

TheIsland_eBook_600x900
Prince Galian is third in line to the throne, but prefers his place as a resident at the Royal Kylaen Hospital. When his father urges him to join the military to help reclaim their colony, Galian is forced to put aside his oath to Do No Harm and fight a war he does not believe in.
Across the great Madion Sea, Captain Theo Kallistrate dreams of a day when she is no longer bound by conscription to fight for her country’s independence. But when the Kylaens threaten, honor and duty call her to the front lines to fight off the oppressors.
When an air skirmish goes wrong, both Theo and Galian crash on a remote island hundreds of miles from either nation. Grievously injured, Theo must rely on Galian’s medical expertise, and Galian must rely on Theo’s survival skills, to live another day in a harsh and unforgiving terrain.
Can they put aside their differences long enough to survive? Or will the war that brought them to the island tear them apart?

Hello everyone! Today I have a really exciting post for you all in celebration of The Island’s release tomorrow, April 26. I have been bombarding you for sometime about how much I love a book which I am a street team member for and now, I can finally tell you guys everything about it, including my thoughts and the feels and more! This review is spoiler free so you are safe peeps! Also, if you an be a bit patient to read through the end of my review, there will be a giveaway in store for you! Yes!

Coming in to this book, I had really high hopes, and perhaps expectations for it since I have been OBSESSED with Double Life (Razia Series Book #1). And this early, I want to tell you, all of you, that I was not disappointed! I could go on and just mumble about how I liked this book, but of course, being the good (ahem) blogger that I am, I will discuss them further and try to be more helpful than my usual self.

like

Honestly, a lot. I think the world building was on point. Now I may have some bias on this because my father was in the Air Force when he was still in the military service. And so, I was familiar with air crafts, maintenance, and mechanics, and hangars, and barracks, and the lot. So for that, I was able to relate early on. However, in retrospect, had I not been in my circumstance, I think I still would have been able to relate after some time. The situation surrounding Theo and why things were that way was told clearly. Of course, the situation with Galian had some relation with me as well because I too work in the medical field. The moral and professional sentiments he expressed were not entirely alien to me.

Also, I think that how the world’s situation was explained well, appealing to the hearts of those who value democracy and freedom (which is probably all of us). You tend to take sides 5 pages in. Clever if I may say so, because by the last 3 pages, you will question that loyalty you held throughout the book. You think you have weighed out everything and made a firm decision but nope! Things are just getting started my friend.

The entire premise of the book was great, of warring lands, with a much deeper and thought-provoking underlying cause to it. It is not entirely a story of love in a war torn country. Because if it is, you know I would have junked it. For me, it is a book of loyalty, and principles, and love, and politics, and choices, and the moral consequences of war. To believe and trust in someone you are raised and trained to hate, and the string of choices you have to make along with it is what makes this book beyond what it looks like.

The story’s pacing was perfect. Although there were a bunch of things needed to be explained and a lot of the conversations carried much information, there was enough pause for a lot of the scenes. What I mean is that, there are moments which needed just a teeny tiny bit more time, just a little drag on the time to let readers get immersed in those moments, before getting their hearts broken to pieces again. Those moments, were generously given to readers in this book. Looking back, I could say A LOT has happened to the characters in this book, BUT, it is surprising to say that it wasn’t a very thick, heavy read.

Now, for the one thing you know I look for in books. Both characters had interesting back stories to them, and I liked that there was not much mystery to where they came from or what they did in the past because that would have been too much. But, the character development both of them underwent during the course of the book was to me, exactly what was needed. You see them change perspective, and challenge their long-held beliefs, but they stay true to their nature, and true to their hearts. There were no dramatic change of loyalties, but internal conflicts that should be natural were present.

dislike

The ending. Yup, I said it. What? No it was not a bad ending. It was just that it ended so soon! One minute I was furiously flipping the pages and then poof! I hit the back cover and my booknerd self cried. Why do this Whitney?

If you have read my review of Double Life (if not yet, click here), then I know you may be wondering if I liked this better. And the honest answer is no. In my review, I gave Double Life a much deserved 4.5/5 rating. For this one, it came really close.

4star

And now for my giveaway!

This Giveaway is for Philippine residents only (sorry international peeps!). I will try to include everyone in my next ones. This is the first giveaway I am hosting so I am still testing stuff out! Expect better ones to come. I designed the notepads myself and I have a thumbs up from the author (thanks Whitney!) for them. These prizes should not be sold.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

PS. Check out this blog again tomorrow for all the Release day post and all the links + another GIVEAWAY!

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Island by S. Usher Evans + Giveaway!

    • I am so sorry I have been such a poop not to reply to your comment sooner. I have been so busy running around and barely had any time for my blog which is really sad.. But anyway, I agree! I totally recommend Double Life if you enjoyed The Island. Whitney’s writing is on point in how she told Razia’s story in the first book! Oh, and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. I’m glad you liked this one so much! I read it for a blog tour and it was pretty great. I liked the same things you liked, especially the worldbuilding, but the story overall fell a little short for me. It doesn’t stick out in memory, at least. Still, it was great for a once-through and I loved the adventure of reading it. Great review!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: The Chasm by S. Usher Evans | Papers Pens and Peridot

Leave a Reply

