BOOK REVIEW: Inherited by Freedom Matthews

27991136

If saying ‘I love you’ meant death, would you still say it?

The Wilted Rose, of faery-tale and folklore, is a pirate ship filled with unfortunate souls-each forbidden to love. One such soul is Valencia ‘Lennie’ Roux. Raised in a brothel and an heir to a curse; Lennie never expected to pique the interest of any man. Yet with the arrival of vivid-eyed Nathaniel, she is torn between wanting to know him better and fearing what that knowledge would mean.

With Nathaniel bringing the crew’s total to six, the Wilted Rose sets off in search of the remaining two heirs. They hope that in reuniting, they will convince the faery Sorceress responsible for the curse, to end it. However lurking beneath the water is a long standing enemy of the Wilted Rose; who is determined to thwart their quest and bring down its leaders.

Together the eight heirs fight for survival, friendship and love.

Hey guys! Today I have another review for you. From the synopsis and the cover above, you might think that this is yet another pirate novel. But nope, you are wrong… well not entirely. There are pirates in this novel, and there are ships and guns and sword fights, but the main characters aren’t EXACTLY pirates. But then again, reading into this novel, I got this Pirates of the Caribbean vibe to it which if I’m completely honest, I absolutely love (hey there Jack Sparrow). So I guess we can call it a pirate novel after all haha! Okay, so since this book is yet to be released, this is going to be a spoiler-free review because I am a good girl like that. Shall we dive into it then?

like

The writing was good. It wasn’t mind blowing but it was clear and I appreciate that, a lot. Sometimes with fantasy novels, the way the story is written cloud the story itself. You get what I mean?  I like how the author keeps descriptions simple, and easy to understand. Which leads me to my second point.

I love, LOVE, how the places and situations were described by the author. Her descriptions are crisp and vivid, but not lacking in the entire feel of the scene. Reading, I could almost smell the salty sea air and feel the warm Caribbean sunsets.It was spot on. The pacing was good, there were moments when I felt could have gone a bit faster but it didn’t make me impatient enough to just skim through them.

There was enough character development for the characters. ALL OF THEM which was good. Surprisingly, these developments weren’t just thrown into the story. I could see that it was planned meticulously, and they were all woven into the plot so that you wouldn’t really notice it happening. Also, I am a fan of the back stories for all the characters. I love how there was one general back story from which all branched out, but then it reconnects beautifully to the present point of view. The flashbacks were poignant. They were gritty, but still appropriate for being categorized as Young Adult.

I would say that the greater plot twist comes at its ending. There were revelations throughout the story like I said and things that were a bit shocking but it is the few last pages that I felt intrigued. And speaking of shocking things, that death though! I mean, I was reading one moment and the next… what the!

Thinking about it, the curse and the mission was very simple, though vague. And I think ultimately, that was what gave the story’s impact. I think it was how it dealt with something so simple yet so powerful that it has so much impact on a person’s happiness and existence. It asks the question of are actions really enough? How much can words mean or change? The mystery, the fight scenes, the dynamics between the characters is well thought out. No two relationship/interaction was the same. Especially dealing with a lot of characters with varying intensities but almost equal importance, that is hard to do.

And can we just talk about our power girl? She just rocked. She went through a lot and bossed at life!

dislike

The almost insta-love. I felt iffy about it honestly. Well, let’s be fair. It wasn’t really insta-love but still. Iffy about how things started out.

Remember I said that the ending was what gave me the twist? Well, as it is, I don’t really know how I feel about how it generally ended. I don’t exactly hate it, and honestly I couldn’t think of a better one, but I think it lacked mystery. There wasn’t much pull from the ending.

I also have this love-hate relationship with the Sorceress/— (not gonna spoil her ‘true’ identity). I just found her petty, you know, like a whiny tween who finally gets it and makes amends for her temper tantrum. At the same time, I wasn’t sold on the villain. Was she too soft? Maybe. Hardcore as it may sound, I kind of wanted her to be much more evil than what she was made to look/ feel like. Sinister people, that is the goal.

Finally, and I want to say that this is all due to me being a weird human, I just felt that it lacked something. And don’t even bother asking me to explain because I have tried countless times and I just can’t. I tried people. There was just this feeling of disconnect with me and this story and the characters. It’s not that this is a bad book, because it is not a terrible book. I think the best way I could explain it is it wasn’t able to just suck me in. It wasn’t able to pull me in and just envelope me and get a tight grip on me that I have to slap myself to reality. That.

So amidst all this banter. I would say give this book a go. This is my first pirate novel and I liked it.

3.5star

** This book releases on July 12, 2016. If you want to know more about the book and Freedom Matthews, click on the cover picture to go to it’s Goodreads page.

*** This ARC was provided by OfTomes Publishing for review purposes. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced by anyone or anything.

Do you think this is something you would want to read in the future? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

