BOOK REVIEW: Tainted by Alexandra Moody

23429291

The ARC: the world’s last chance for survival, but this underground fallout shelter is the last place you want to be.

At the tender age of two Elle Winters lost everything, when the day of impact transformed Earth’s surface into an icy, desolate wasteland. Fifteen years later, all she has ever known are the cold, artificial confines of underground fallout shelter, the ARC. Under the Council’s rule, ruthless officials roam the hallways and community comes first. Everyone lives in fear of failing their annual testing and those that do are deemed tainted—taken away without any warning or a word of goodbye.

No one has been taken in over six months and the remaining citizens of the ARC have slowly begun to forget the danger. Elle remains wary, but even she is beginning to wonder if it’s finally safe to succumb to her feelings towards her closest friend, Sebastian.

But, no one is ever truly safe in the ARC. Elle is about to experience her own personal apocalypse and with nothing left to lose, she will finally attempt to uncover the truth about the tainted.

Will she find what she’s looking for or are some secrets better left buried deep underground?

I am feeling super productive and I didn’t want to waste my creative juices so I just typed this as a word document and will be posting this as soon as I get home. I read this book even before I read the ones in my 3 previous posts so this is a long overdue review in all honesty. I really wanted to review this book as well, because I think it had an interesting premise. Initially, I thought that it wasn’t compelling enough of a story. However, with some time in, I realized that it was an interesting story, though if I may say so, the idea of having the entire population contained into a dome/space/refuge/whatever you might want to call it because the world has been destroyed is not new in the world of science fiction. Also, I swear I read a synopsis of another book which sounds eerily similar to this, but I can’t remember the title of the book to save myself.

like

Her struggles seem to be real. At some point, her emotions feels like they come from a genuine place. I guess, in technical terms, you can say that the emotions that the characters were assigned to represent were cleverly melded into the story, and you tend to feel for the characters as well.

What struck me the most were Elle’s relationships with the people around her. Although she may not notice it, or may not want it, it is evident that she has formed lasting bonds. They were relationships that felt natural to her, so avoiding forming relationships only applied to other people outside her circle. She had a special relationship with the boy’s father, which was platonic of course, but nevertheless true.

The writing was fine. It didn’t make me swoon, but it didn’t turn me off as well. It did a good job of carrying the story and that is what’s important right? Also, the character development was slow but sure. I think the author ensured first that the characters were introduced as to who they are now, and then they are introduced to a new light every so often, developing the characters as they go. The pacing, was a little slow for me. I would have wanted more action but hey, I didn’t fall asleep.

I think out of the entire book, the part where I was most excited was during the last few pages.  It was one of those I-thought-I-knew moments for the characters but then nothing was what it seems.

dislike

The ending was not a giveaway, but I kind of guessed it 2/3 into the book. It was not an ending where I was just waiting for the book to blurt it out. BUT, I wasn’t surprised, AT ALL, about how it ended. You get what I’m saying?

I am not sure if I connected to the Elle that much. Look, I get that she has issues, and that she has lived a terrible fate but managed to survive it all but I just can’t get myself to love her as much I want to. For what it’s worth though, I like her bad ass roommate. And although I feel detached, I know that if I were somebody else reading, it would have been heartbreaking to me.

Overall, I guess what I was looking for was intensity, and richness, especially with a book playing on post-apocalyptic world and betrayal. I wanted it to keep me on my toes. Especially since this was a first book to a series/trilogy, I would have preferred that it pack a solid punch.

2.5star

I don’t think this is a horrible book. It just isn’t for me. I think people who are really into this genre will find this a delight to read. Unfortunately, I will not be reading further into this trilogy.

Have you read this book?

What did you think about it?

 

Leave a Reply

