BOOK REVIEW: Cinderella Theorem by Kristee Ravan

cinderellatheorem

Fairy tales are naturally non-mathematical. That is a fact, and fifteen-year-old Lily Sparrow loves factual, mathematical logic. So when her mother confesses that Lily’s deceased father is (a) not dead, (b) coming to dinner, and (c) the ruler of a fairy tale kingdom accessible through the upstairs bathtub, Lily clings to her math to help her make sense of this new double life (1 life in the real world + 1 secret life in the fairy tale world = a double life).

Even though it’s not mathematical, Lily finds herself being pulled into a mystery involving an unhappy Cinderella, a greasy sycophant called Levi, and a slew of vanishing fairy tale characters. Racing against the clock, with a sound mathematical plan, Lily attempts to save her fairy tale friends while proving that normality = happiness.

Hello guys! Today I have another review for you. This was a book I saw on YA Bound Book Tours that was open for review but at that time, I had a totally different idea of what it was about even after I read the synopsis of the book. So I requested it, and as soon as I was accepted and got the book, I read it and boy was I surprised.

like

The world building was really unique and interesting. Now at first it might not be too obvious, but as you go along, you see that this is another spin to fairy tales. The stories and the characters in them are given personalities, more than what they are made to look like in the tales. Don’t get me wrong though, they retain their signature characteristics they are known for in the stories, but there is just more to them than what is told. This new spin to the usual re-telling is refreshing, kind of how Shrek has different fairy tales in one movie.

The “magic system”  is quite unique. I don’t know if I should call it a magic system even. Lily does not have magical powers, and what she does doesn’t exactly call for magic. However, there is looking deeper into the story of what “magic” really is in this story, I think that finding happiness, true happiness, is what it actually means. In essence, Lily has magic because she is able to see and understand what makes people happy, by looking into the root of their sadness. Yes she is a bit immature, but you see talent.

There were some parts of the storytelling that I was not comfortable about which I will discuss later. What I want to tell you now is that as I went farther into reading, I felt comfortable with the jargon (except the equations and math stuff), and the style of how the story was told. For me, the choice of telling it in a point-of-view style worked perfectly. It suit Lily’s personality well, which brings me to my next point.

I like how Lily is so rational, because I for one am. I like thinking about stuff, a lot. And seeing how this world confuses her, I could totally relate to Lily. I would have freaked out too if my dead father just appears in front of me standing in my tub. Oh and I just adore her nickname for her dad. “King Tub”. Gets me every time haha!

Although there were certain things that didn’t work out for me while I was reading, the last 50 pages or so were the ones that got me really interested. I was really intrigued and excited honestly. Honestly, I am looking forward to what is next, and I would definitely read the sequel if only to know what can take off evil Levi’s greasiness.

dislike

Three things.

One. I am as irritated as I can get with Lily’s parents. I mean it people, IRRITATED. I cannot believe these people! You drop a truth bomb right in front of your teenage girls face and you expect her to be calm and okay about it with just a few words and ice cream with every flavor she wants? I mean, the ice cream sounds like a good idea but come on! Fairy tale parents are supposed to be loving and caring and overly explanatory!  Give her time people! Actually talk with her about it. That is what adults do. Or is that just me? Seriously, I am so glad Lily is rational because clearly, her parents have lost their minds.

Two. The math. MATH! Oh the bane of my existence. This part, I can only blame myself for. I hate math. I just do. And seeing how parts of the book is represented in letters corresponding to values and equations and whatnot seriously almost threw me off. I think I would have liked it better if it were told in paragraph form, explaining probabilities and limits and stuff.

Three. I am kind of not too sold on the Calo story. I get it, but I think I need more proof? I mean there is the circumstantial evidence but I needed something more. Although yes, it served the purpose of solving a mystery.

I kind of am sad about this rating. I know that if I hadn’t despised math I would have given it more. But oh well, it is still a good one right? It is a casual, easy to read type of book. If you want to read stress out, then I think this book can help you.

3star

Before I go, one more thing I have to say is that I do think this book will be enjoyed by those in the younger age bracket of YA. This book is cute and I think they will like it better. And I fully agree with how this book refers to Cinderella. Yes girl, Cinderella is not a fairy tale. Cinderella is THE fairy tale.

*** This Ebook was sent to me for free in excange of an honest review. My opinions are my own and have not been influenced by anyone or anything.

*** Cinderella Theorem was released May 2016.

Leave a Reply

