BOOK REVIEW: Spells and Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

29933704

You have magic.

One sentence, three words, four syllables. Enough to change my life forever. And I’m not talking about the whole spells and sorcery thing.

Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical.

Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her.

Spells and Sorcery is the first YA fantasy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series, the Madion War Trilogy and Empath.

Seriously, I have no idea where time goes because it feels like yesterday when I received an ARC of The Island and here I am, reviewing another series from S. Usher Evans. Whew! I received an email from the lovely author/ her own publisher as well, about a new series she has written and if I might be interested in reading it. Of course, seeing how The Island and The Chasm and Double Life (hey Razia girl!) worked out super well for me, I was in.

like

The magic system, though not astoundingly unique, is well thought of. Now we all know about witches and the variety of things they can do. However, the world that the author created made for a unique system where the witches are categorized according to their talents, essentially complementing each other. The societal and institutional aspects of the magic system is well developed and I like that about it.

The suspense and mystery regarding the plot twist (twists? gotta read it if you wanna know *wink*) was were not dragged on for too long yet not given too soon. Now if you have read some of my previous reviews you might know that I hate, HATE, frustrating books that keep too much for too long that by the end you just don’t care anymore.

Ms. Evans, as usual, is able to give natural reactions to her characters. I mean, you could just relate to them, because they seem natural. They could just be the usual person you walk past along the streets. They are flawed, they try, they cope up and they learn. The development of the characters was very discreet, but relevant.

Now, I want you to pay attention to what I am going to say. EVERYBODY loves a bad ass grandma. Do you? I do. Come on, when you are inches away from dying and you find out you kept your precious life because your granny “claimed you”, you gotta bow to the queen bee that is your Nana. And just like that, I described my favorite scene in the book.

I am usually good at having hunches regarding twists and stuff but honestly, I think I was too busy about the other stuff going on that I only realized it about 3 pages before the big reveal. Still caught it though *wink* Well played Whitney, well played.

dislike

Something about it just doesn’t settle with me completely. And I know this is stupid, but it didn’t just hit it with me like The Chasm or Double Life did. I know I shouldn’t compare them because they are TOTALLY different books, but I hope you get what I am saying.I think maybe it is because this book is for a younger crowd?  Maybe.

The synopsis fell flat for me. The first 2 lines that is.

The pacing was slow at first. And I understand why it had to be that way, explaining a lot of stuff and showing how Lexie will react to her newfound powers but personally, I would have wanted it to have picked up speed early on. It did pick up, about 1/3 into the book and all was well 🙂 Well not all well because she almost died but you get what I mean.

Despite these, I am really curious what comes next, and will definitely read the next book in this series. I also want to read it to see if it will be a better fit for me. I like that this book is not like anything I have read before, with witches having concrete limits to their powers. And I think people will enjoy it too.

3.5star

**I received an ARC of this book from the publisher for free in exchange of an honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced by anyone or anything.

**Spells and Sorcery (Lexie Carrigan Chronicles #1) releases on October 4, 2016.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Spells and Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

Leave a Reply

