BOOK REVIEW: The Fray Theory by Nelou Keramati

29090898

Neve Knightly lives in an ordinary world. Where déjà vu is nothing more than a mind-trick. Where premonitions are dismissed as mere coincidence. Where no one thinks twice about the glitches in their reality.

Neve Knightly is living a lie.

But when her nightmare of a tragedy comes true the very next day, she can no longer seek solace in self-deception. The glossy enamel has been shattered, and she has caught a glimpse of what slithers just beneath the surface.

She now has the opportunity to decipher the enigma that’s been haunting her since childhood. But her quest soon becomes deeply entangled with the last two people she could have ever imagined: the love of her life, Dylan, who mysteriously vanished three years ago, and his estranged best friend, Romer, who seems to be guarding a secret of his own.

Romance, rancor, and redemption plummet as priorities, as their lives become riddled with peculiar happenings lying just outside the realm of science. And in search for salvation, they emerge at the brink of unveiling the best-kept secret in human history.

Hello everyone! We are back! Today I have a loooong overdue review I have been wanting to do. But because I felt like poop for quite some time, I haven’t been able to post it. But today is the day and I hope I do a good job haha!

So, a little background on how I got my hands on this book. I saw a post on Instagram regarding this book that is about to be released and the author is looking for some people who are willing to give it a read and maybe talk about it too at some point. Of course, being the book fanatic that I was, my hand went straight up and volunteered. Fast forward to today and it has been months since the promised review was due to be posted and I cannot but be thankful for the author being so nice about it. Also, this book has already released and is available for purchase on both print and digital copy.

Okay, so after I have rambled a bit, let us jump to the actual review.

like

First of all, that cover just speaks to me. The more you look at it, the more mesmerizing it gets. Those eyes are haunting, like really.

Now, because I have decided that this will be a spoiler free review, I will not be spilling details. BUT, what I can tell you is that this book is bloody brilliant! The logic behind everything is just so good you kind of read through everything in awe. What struck me more is that, however impossible (or is it really?) the entire plot is, the author was able to tell so convincingly that as I read, it miraculously made sense!

The writing style was very mysterious, almost dark. From that first page, and throughout the book, I felt this sort of tension building up, and by Chapter 14, it just started to explode. Yep. You read it right. Started. The vibe can be likened to that of psychological-crime thrillers but with a supernatural flair to it. That make sense? The stark similarity of the characters and situation to reality is actually eerie. Made me rethink about my everyday conquests haha!

There was this precision to how the author tells her story that I like. Her command of the language and style of story-telling is very evident in her piece. This translates to how she built her world in the novel. The world is being described in the eyes of the characters, and not through an indirect third person reference. The world is experienced, in a crisp way, which an be scary.

dislike

This isn’t necessarily something I DISLIKED about the book. But it is a fact that the idea of the existence of parallel worlds or a parallel universe is not something new. Think DC and Marvel. Ironically, though this isn’t an all-original idea, the way she put her own spin to it is one of the things I loved about it.

This one, is not at all the book’s fault. I own up to this one. I just kept on putting this book down for soooo many times I did not do this book justice. It is an amazing book. It’s one that I know I would have enjoyed more if I didn’t read it when I was in a rut. If I read it in a more positive time in my life, I would have flailed about this constantly, I know it. I guess, this points to the fact that this is a heavy book. It’s quite intense. It’s not for everybody, and definitely not for someone looking for a light read on a Tuesday night after a stressful workday.

Having said that, the pacing on this book is quite, uhm, erratic? The first part of this book confused the hell out of me. BUT, to be fair to the plot itself, I would not change the way the story was introduced, however confusing it was. But still, confused A LOT.

So… how should I rate it. Again, I blame myself for having read this at such an inopportune time. But I can tell you this early, I would DEFINITELY re-read this book.  And I can’t wait for the next installment! That’s how good it is.

4star

Would you read a book of this genre?

How excited are you for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

