BOOK REVIEW: Eerie by C.M. McCoy

28252234

Hailey Hartley has just enrolled in the world’s premier supernatural university. It’s a school she’s never heard of, located in a town called The Middle of Nowhere, and run by a creature that’s not supposed to exist. But at least she got a scholarship…

Hailey’s dreams have always been, well…vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey finds only one place offers her answers–a paranormal university in Alaska. There, she studies the science of the supernatural and must learn to live with a roommate from Hell, survive her otherworldly classes, and hope the only creature who can save her from the evil immortal who took her sister doesn’t decide to kill her himself.

Before anything else, I would like to say that this world right here, is my jam.

Hey wonderful people! Welcome back to my blog! Today I have another review for you about a book I finished quite a while back (because reasons), and have not been able to write a comment on.

like

Getting into this book, the first thing that came to my mind was how similar it was to how the book Creatura began. There was a world of dreams, a girl who can walk in and cross it, an ethereal being who watches from afar, and impossibly handsome immortals suddenly messing with an innocent girl’s life. I really thought I wasn’t going to like it. But what I liked about all this is how unique the story turned out to be. The whole concept was given it’s own personality, and by the end of it all, it was a completely different story.

Like I’ve said earlier, this world is my jam. It’s set in a suburb where the paranormal isn’t exactly alien, which in my opinion, is love. I could read stories set in these areas on and on and on. The author was able to humanize (that a word?) or personify some of the “characters” in the story which was both amusing and comforting at the same time. The world building was fantastic I would say. There are freakin’ yetis and a banshee for a roommate! From the people to the places to the not-so-human characters, I think the details were thought out. The interactions were natural in a weird way.

Now if you have been reading this blog before, then you would know that this really sealed the deal for me. IT. WAS. GORY. Someone’s foot is cut not even halfway through! Souls get grabbed while the person writhes in pain and paranormal worms drink too much coffee and explode. Oh and the ending! The ending was quite a surprise. I welcome one I must say, but I should have known! And now this whole story takes a whole new spin.

The general vibe of this entire novel was, well, eerie. There was this constant strange feeling of the paranormal looming around. It was consistent all through out. Even in the lovey-dovey scenes, you would still feel that cold air swirling around.

Reading on, the writing style was good, okay even. It wasn’t something explosive, but it was clean, and I appreciate that.

dislike

These are more of the “meh” things for me. I don’t think I completely disliked anything about the novel, but, there were some parts that were a bit lackluster.

The story’s pacing was okay. It was neither fast nor slow. However, there were pockets of time during the course of the story telling that weren’t as interesting as the others. Those were the times I think the story slowed down. Intentional? Maybe. But personally, I could have done without them and loved the book the same. There even wasn’t an explosive climax to the story. I was waiting for something more.

Sad to say, none of the male leads made me swoon. Not that it is a major factor for me as a reader. None of the characters really spoke to me strongly in fact. They weren’t bad. The interactions were good, the the characters were okay. Although, I would love to have her uncles as mine.

Now some of you might wonder if there is a romance side to this book. And the answer to that is a resounding yes. In fact, probably half of decisions in the book were solely based on the romantic aspect of the plot. However, and you can aim your spears all you want, a lot of you might know that it takes a lot for me to really, really appreciate love angles. Ooor maybe it is also because I got soooo caught up in this fantastic university of the paranormal that I forgot people (?) flirted in its halls.

SO, I guess the real question is: Will I read the next ones? Yes! Interestingly, I am really curious as to what happens next and I would love to see where this story goes.

3.5star

*** This book was sent to me through YABoundBookTours in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced by anything or anyone.

*** Eerie has been released last December 2015. Oh! And there is a giveaway running on it’s Goodreads page! Click here if you want the chance to get this book plus some swag!

Till next time! Toodles!

 

Leave a Reply

