BOOK REVIEW: Rhodi’s Light by Megan Linski (Rhodi’s Saga Book 1)

31835951

Flight. Hyperspeed. Clairvoyance.

These are some of the powers gifted to the Rhodi, an ancient sect of assassins who defend Crescentia, a dystopian world with a dying hope.

Dyliana Fairsson is one of them. After losing her parents to a suspicious accident, she and her twin brother, Devin, join the Rhodi to avoid starvation. Under the direction of her master, Dylan struggles to learn the strength of her magic …as well as hide the growing scars on her wrists. Can Dylan become the warrior, the hero, she’s destined to be? Or is she fated to fall from the light into the darkness?

The first installment in an epic fantasy series by young adult author Megan Linski, Rhodi’s Light is an action-packed thrill ride that will leave readers begging for more.

You guys! What I have for you today is really exciting, well at least for me. I haven’t thought that in my age right now, a book like this would have affected me like this. But this book is, as early in this review as I can say, really worth your time. But of course, like all the other reviews I have made in the past, I will lay it all down for you. The good and the bad. So let’s start!

dislike

The world building is “okay”. I wasn’t able to fully make out how similar, or different the world is to what we have now. I guess what I am looking for is the distinct difference, or the stark similarity other novels offer, especially in their scenery description. The world building, to me, is not as tight as others would have it. HOWEVER, I think it helped in the over-all effect of the story. The book had a dark, heavy backstory and it should not be undermined by any of the other factors.

like

The characters are well-developed. Their personalities are so well-thought out, I could think of their reactions to certain situations. Their personalities are also well woven into the whole plot that they are integral parts of the decisions and the direction the story takes.

 The “power/magic system” in this novel is unique, and well-thought out. I haven’t read anything like it yet, and I really enjoyed its evolution as the story progressed. All throughout, I cannot stop myself from thinking of the Power Rangers while reading. Does anybody remember the multitude of Power Rangers seasons. Oh! And there will be a movie adaptation of that coming out!

It was a delight to me that the author used quite a relaxed, casual writing style compared to some authors who write for the same genre. I could feel the natural intensity of the events without heavy and thick language. I also loved how the small details mattered to the overall appeal of the characters, and the story itself.

I find that the speed as to how the story was told is perfect to the amount of information and events the author wants the reader to experience without compressing them too much. It was a well planned storytelling and I liked it a lot. The story, the plot, and the characters are all relatable. The emotions were raw, despite that it is a heavily fantasy read.

The underlying theme of the novel, though slightly touched in the actual events, had lasting effects.As I was thinking of the events that led to the “big reveal”, I saw the clever build up. It was a scene full of emotions that as a person, I could understand. They were also emotions not alien to most of us.

I honestly loved this book. Besides the fact that it is a power ranger-y novel, I liked how deep it is. The different kinds of love. The struggles of rising from suffocating emotions and ideas. It is full of action, literally and metaphorically.

4star

Have you read this book?

Do you like Power Rangers?

*** Book was sent to me for review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced by anyone or anything.

Leave a Reply

